With the bases loaded and one out, the batter hits the ball to the SS who moves into make the play; at that point the runner advancing from 2nd to 3rd moves behind the SS (which he must do) to avoid the collision. Then, the SS, realizing that he has moved in too far and has mis-played the batted ball, attempts to adjust by backing up 2-3 steps in an effort to make the play and the runner and fielder collide. As the plate umpire, I delayed any call since the primary call belongs to my field partner…he no-calls the play so I called an obstruction on the SS (delayed dead ball). after the play, one run scored, all runners and the batter-runner were safe on the next base, and the defense asked for the interference call citing only b. My partner and I conferred and when my partner told me that he had the SS taking 2-3 chop steps back to change his first fielding position after he set up the first time, we held with our initial call (no interference and disregard the obstruction since all runners and the batter-runner ended up where they would have been – one run scored).